Greenkeeper Profile – Graham Lamb

This section of the blog is intended to allow the reader and members of the club to get to know the individuals who maintain the course to such a high standard a little better. The first profile is that of Mr Graham Lamb, deputy course manager and stalwart of the maintenance team for the past 20 years.

How long have you been at North Foreland and what have your roles been in that time?

I have been at the club for 20 years this December. My roles in that time have included the following:

  • Assistant greenkeeper
  • Deputy head greenkeeper (1995-2005)
  • Acting head greenkeeper (April-September 2005)
  • Deputy course manager (September 2005 – present)

What do you love about greenkeeping?

There are a number of different reasons why I love this profession. They include the environment, variety of tasks, physical nature of the job and the team I work with. The course is in a great location and I find it extremely satisfying to earn an honest living through physical effort. The team is a great group of guys to work with. Oh and the table tennis during break is good too!

What is your favourite job and why?

I enjoy leading winter construction and renovation projects. It is very enjoyable making changes to the course that could remain for years to come.

Do you play golf?

To a fashion!

What’s your handicap?

It was 11, but is a distant memory nowadays!

What qualifications do you have in the sportsturf industry?

  • NVQ level 2 and 3
  • Spraying certificates, PA1, PA2 and PA6
  • Chainsaw and polesaw certificates

What do you think are the biggest challenges facing the golf/greenkeeping industry at the present time and in the future?

At present the major challenges are producing a course to the increasing standards expected by golfers whilst simultaneously dealing with increasing volume of play throughout the year. In the future, the removal of effective pesticides will make the suppression of diseases such as fairy rings and earthworm activity (amongst other things) more difficult. I can see this affecting the standards of maintenance unless new solutions can be found.

Have you had any opportunities you particularly enjoyed that you wouldn’t otherwise have had the opportunity to do?

  • Handmowed greens at 2003 British Open (Royal St George’s)

Are there any projects you’re particularly proud you’ve been a part of/led?

I’m most proud of the short course astro/grass tee renovations from around 14 years ago. I was given the time and resources to really upgrade the extensively eroded areas surrounding the pre-existing black mats, sympathetically incorporating the new astro standing areas with the old classic Fowler/Simpson rolling architecture.

There must have been some funny moments in your career at North Foreland – anything in particular you’d like to share?

I’ve long planned on writing a book in the style of James Herriot upon retirement, taking account of all the stories I’ve accumulated. It may well be entitled ‘It shouldn’t happen to a greenkeeper’ and there are plenty of stories to fill the pages. I’ll air on the side of caution this time!

One wintery morning 7 years ago, I visited the ‘halfway house’ to purchase a warm rock cake only to have a long standing member pay for said rock cake in appreciation of my efforts in dismal conditions. Sadly I cannot remember the gentleman’s name. Later that day, warmed by his generosity, I felt compelled to do the same for a long standing colleague, Den.

For reasons that are still unclear, rather than take the path I attempted to hurdle the hedge behind the 15th green, which on reflection had taken on the appearance of Beachers Brook. Needless to say, with an inch of mud on my boots in conditions between soft and heavy going, I became a faller and spent the next three weeks in plaster with a broken ankle. Had I been a horse, I would surely have been shot and I suspect that option crossed Dan’s mind too!

DSCF0079

 

Graham hard at work!

badge

About McGrathMG

Golf Course Manager

Leave a comment